Comparing Tokyo day trip passes: coverage, validity and extra charges
Compare suburban passes for Kamakura, Hakone, Nikko, Kawagoe and Yokohama by departure station, valid days, return fares, limited express supplements and attraction costs.
Last checked:
Rail and sightseeing passes around Tokyo may have similar names but very different coverage. Some are local day tickets, some include return travel from Shinjuku, and others require a two-day pass. This page compares passes mentioned in this site’s day-trip articles using official information checked on 2026-10-28. You cannot judge value from the ticket price alone: the official pages do not list one-way fares for every route, and the answer also depends on your departure station and whether you take a limited express train. Return to Tokyo day trip guide.
Key points
- There is no one-day Hakone Freepass: Only 2-day and 3-day versions are available. The Nikko World Heritage Area Pass covers 1 to 2 consecutive days.
- The Enoden day pass covers Enoden only. The Enoshima-Kamakura Freepass includes discounted Odakyu return travel from Shinjuku.
- The Minatomirai Line one-day ticket does not cover the journey from Tokyo to Yokohama.
- Limited express supplements and shrine or temple admission are charged separately, depending on the pass.
Comparison across six categories
| Pass | Starting point | Valid days | Return journey included | Local transport | Limited express extra | Attractions extra |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Enoden day pass (adult 800 yen, child 400 yen) | Any station (all Enoden lines) | Day of purchase | No | Unlimited travel across Enoden | Not applicable | Discounts for Hasedera Temple, Enoshima Sea Candle and others (once each on the day) |
| Enoshima-Kamakura Freepass (adult 1,640 yen, child 430 yen) | Shinjuku | 1 day | Includes discounted Odakyu return tickets | Includes Enoden | Romancecar supplement (Shinjuku to Katase-Enoshima: adult +750, child +380) | Not listed on the official page |
| Hakone Freepass (adult from Shinjuku: 2 days 7,100 yen; 3 days 7,500 yen) | Shinjuku or Odawara | 2 or 3 days | From Shinjuku, one Odakyu return trip (to Odawara) | Mountain railway, cable car, ropeway, sightseeing cruise and selected buses | Romancecar supplement extra; amount not listed on the official page | Admission discounts at about 70 attractions, not free entry |
| NIKKO PASS World Heritage Area (adult 3,000 yen, child 1,500 yen) | Asakusa (Tobu’s official World Heritage Area page) | 1 to 2 consecutive days (another page says 2 days) | One round trip between Asakusa and Shimo-Imaichi | Tobu lines between Shimo-Imaichi, Tobu-Nikko and Shin-Fujiwara, and Tobu buses in the World Heritage area | Limited express ticket purchased separately | Shrine and temple admission extra |
| NIKKO PASS All Area (adult 8,000 yen, child 4,000 yen) | Not stated on the official page | 1 to 4 consecutive days | Not stated on the official page | Also includes Oku-Nikko and Lake Chuzenji | Limited express ticket purchased separately | Shrine and temple admission extra |
| Minatomirai Line day ticket (adult 460 yen, child 230 yen) | Any Minatomirai Line station | 1 day | No | Minatomirai Line | Not applicable | Not included |
| SEIBU KAWAGOE PASS (adult 1,000 yen) | Ikebukuro, Seibu-Shinjuku, Takadanobaba | Day of travel | One round trip (to Hon-Kawagoe); stopovers not allowed | Not included | Limited express ticket purchased separately | Not included |
| KAWAGOE DISCOUNT PASS Premium (adult 1,200 yen, child 600 yen) | Ikebukuro | Not stated on the official page | Discounted Tobu Tojo Line return tickets (discounted fare not listed) | Selected Tobu bus sections, including the Koedo Loop Bus | Not stated on the official page | Not included |
- Hakone Freepass prices are from the version effective 1 October 2025. The SEIBU KAWAGOE PASS is available only to foreign passport holders.
- The Minatomirai Line day ticket page does not explain whether through-running sections are covered. Other products, such as the Yokohama & Minatomirai Pass, must be checked separately.
How to use the table
- Choose your destination first, then consider its passes rather than buying a pass first.
- Calculate fares: Use a route-search tool to check one-way fares and limited express supplements from your departure station (see Route planning and timetable tools), then compare the total with the pass price.
- Check what is covered: Some passes include return travel; others cover local transport only. Nikko and Hakone passes are not one-day passes.
- Check eligibility: The SEIBU KAWAGOE PASS requires a foreign passport.
There is no official answer for the “best-value pass for every traveller”. You must calculate this based on your departure station, number of rides, age and discount conditions. This page does not make a recommendation.
Articles for each destination
- Yokohama: Yokohama day trip
- Kamakura and Enoshima: Kamakura day trip, Enoshima day trip
- Kawagoe: Kawagoe day trip
- Hakone: Hakone day trip
- Nikko: Nikko day trip
For nationwide passes, see JR Pass and regional rail passes.
Sources
- 江之島電鐵|Noriorikun 一日乘車券 (www.enoden.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 小田急電鐵|江之島鎌倉周遊券 (odakyu-global.com, checked 2026-10-28)
- 箱根交通資訊|箱根周遊券 (www.hakonenavi.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 東武鐵道|NIKKO PASS (www.tobu.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 東武鐵道|NIKKO PASS 世界遺產區 (www.tobu.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 橫濱高速鐵道|港未來線一日券 (www.mm21railway.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 西武鐵道|SEIBU KAWAGOE PASS (www.seiburailway.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 東武鐵道|KAWAGOE DISCOUNT PASS Premium (www.tobu.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)