Kawagoe day trip from Tokyo: Little Edo streets and two rail passes
Learn how to reach Kawagoe from Ikebukuro, explore its warehouse streets and bell tower, and compare Seibu and Tobu passes while retaining conflicting official height figures.
Last checked:
Kawagoe (川越) is one of the easier day trips near Tokyo from Ikebukuro. This article uses official information (checked on 2026-10-28) to cover transport, historic streets and two passes. The official pages disagree on the height of the bell tower, so both figures are presented without choosing one. For trips from Tokyo, see the Tokyo day trips guide.
Key points
- Tobu’s official page: approximately 30 minutes from Ikebukuro to Kawagoe on the Tobu Tojo Line
- SEIBU KAWAGOE PASS: 1,000 yen, only for holders of non-Japanese passports; one return journey
- Tobu KAWAGOE DISCOUNT PASS Premium: adults 1,200 and children 600 (the official page gives numbers without specifying a currency); includes Tobu Bus
- Height of Toki no Kane: two Kawagoe City official pages state approximately 16 metres and approximately 17.5 metres respectively
Toki no Kane and the warehouse district
| Item | Official information |
|---|---|
| Warehouse-style streets (蔵造りの町並み) | Kawagoe’s preserved fire-resistant warehouse architecture; selected as a nationally designated Important Preservation District for Groups of Traditional Buildings in December 1999; selected among the “100 Beautiful Historical Landscapes of Japan” in January 2007 |
| Osawa Family Residence | Built in 1792 as a warehouse for a kimono and fabric merchant; survived the great fire of 1893 |
| Kurazukuri Museum | City-designated Cultural Property |
| Other sites in the area | Toki no Kane, former Yamazaki Family Residence, Koedo Kurari, Kashiya Yokocho, Renkeiji Temple, Taisho Roman Yume-dori, Kawagoe Kumano Shrine and Kawagoe Festival Museum |
| Toki no Kane (時の鐘) | Bells ring automatically every day at 6:00, 12:00, 15:00 and 18:00; about 15 minutes’ walk from Hon-Kawagoe Station on the Seibu Shinjuku Line; 3 levels |
| Height (tourism page) | Approximately 16 metres |
| Height (cultural property page) | Total height approximately 17.5 metres; rebuilt in 1894 after the 1893 fire, with 3 tiers and 4 levels |
- The warehouse district page does not give the nearest station or walking time, so neither is included
- The height differs between Kawagoe City’s official tourism and cultural property pages; both figures are shown
Transport and stations
Stations listed in official information:
| Operator | Station | Information |
|---|---|---|
| Tobu Railway | Ikebukuro Station to Kawagoe Station | About 30 minutes; the official page does not specify the train type or fare |
| Seibu Railway | Hon-Kawagoe Station | The pass’s Tokyo departure points for return travel are Ikebukuro, Seibu-Shinjuku and Takadanobaba |
Tobu’s Premium pass page mentions both Kawagoe Station and Kawagoeshi Station; it does not explain the walk from either station to the old streets, so this is not included.
Comparing two passes
| Item | SEIBU KAWAGOE PASS | KAWAGOE DISCOUNT PASS Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Price | 1,000 yen (adult) | Adult 1,200; child 600 |
| Eligibility | Holders of non-Japanese passports; show passports or residence cards for all group members when buying | No restriction listed on the official page |
| Rail travel | One return trip between Hon-Kawagoe and Ikebukuro, Seibu-Shinjuku or Takadanobaba; return can end at any of the three Tokyo stations; no intermediate stopovers | Discounted Tojo Line return rail tickets between Ikebukuro and Kawagoe or Kawagoeshi Station (discounted fare not listed on the official page); unlimited journeys between Kawagoe and Kawagoeshi stations |
| Buses | Not listed on the official page | Unlimited Tobu Bus rides for one day in designated sections, including Koedo Loop Bus |
| Limited express | Separate limited express ticket required | Not explained on the official page |
| Validity | Only on the travel date; online purchases are valid for two weeks after collection | Not stated on the official page |
| Purchase | Limited express ticket counters at Seibu Ikebukuro, Seibu-Shinjuku and Takadanobaba; online via EMot or Klook (credit card or PayPay, not transport IC card), on sale from one month before the travel date | Tobu online tickets or paper tickets from Tobu ticket offices |
- The official Premium pass page does not clearly say “return fare included” or “discount on return rail tickets”; it describes a discount, and this article keeps that wording
- To assess whether a pass is worth buying, first check your departure station and single fares; these are not listed on the official page, so no calculation is made here
How to choose
- If you stay near Ikebukuro, Takadanobaba or Seibu-Shinjuku and hold a non-Japanese passport: consider the Seibu pass
- If you want to use Tobu Bus (Koedo Loop Bus): consider Premium
- If departing from elsewhere in Tokyo: check single fares first rather than buying a pass immediately
Further reading: Tokyo transport introduction.
Sources
- 東武鐵道|池袋至川越 (www.tobu.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 川越市|藏造街區 (www.city.kawagoe.saitama.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 川越市|時之鐘(觀光頁) (www.city.kawagoe.saitama.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 川越市|時之鐘(文化財頁) (www.city.kawagoe.saitama.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 西武鐵道|SEIBU KAWAGOE PASS (www.seiburailway.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 東武鐵道|KAWAGOE DISCOUNT PASS Premium (www.tobu.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)