Kyushu ferries: Kumamoto, Shimabara, Sakurajima and Goto routes
Compare Kyushu ferry operators, fares, vehicle charges, timetables and reservation rules for Kumamoto–Shimabara, Kagoshima–Sakurajima and routes to the Goto Islands.
Last checked:
Several Kyushu ferry routes are used frequently by travelers: Kumamoto to Shimabara (two operators), Kagoshima to Sakurajima, and boats from Nagasaki and Sasebo to the Goto Islands. Operators, fares, and reservation methods vary. This article summarizes official information. Schedules can change with the season, weather, and vessel maintenance, so check official websites before traveling. For pass coverage, see the Kyushu transport pass comparison.
Route overview
| Route | Operator | Vehicles | Reservations |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kumamoto Port – Shimabara Outer Port | Kumamoto Ferry (熊本フェリー) | Yes; charged by vehicle length | The official page does not specify reservations |
| Kumamoto – Shimabara | Kyusho Ferry (九商フェリー) | Yes; charged by vehicle length | The official page does not specify reservations |
| Kagoshima Port – Sakurajima Port | Kagoshima City Ship Bureau | Yes (the official site says passengers and vehicles pay at Sakurajima Port) | The official page does not specify reservations |
| Nagasaki – Goto, Nagasaki – Arikawa, Sasebo – Kamigoto | Kyushu Shosen | Jetfoils and high-speed boats carry passengers only; ferries can carry vehicles | Jetfoils and high-speed boats can be reserved online; ferries can be reserved by telephone only |
Kumamoto ↔ Shimabara
The two companies use different terminals and crossing times, and their fares also differ.
Kumamoto Ferry (Kumamoto Port – Shimabara Outer Port)
| Item | Official information |
|---|---|
| Adult one-way fare | 1,600 yen; primary school children and younger 800 yen; one preschool child per adult travels free |
| Vehicle (including driver) | Kei car 4,200 yen; under 4 m 4,400 yen; 4 to 5 m 5,100 yen; 5 to 6 m 6,800 yen |
| Depart Kumamoto | 07:30, 09:25, 11:10, 13:00, 14:50, 16:40, 18:30 (the 7th sailing operates only on weekends and public holidays from April to December) |
| Depart Shimabara | 08:25, 10:15, 12:05, 13:50, 15:45, 17:30, 19:20 (7th sailing as above) |
| Notes | Times can change due to weather; passengers traveling with a vehicle must complete boarding procedures 30 minutes before departure |
The official page does not state the crossing time.
Kyusho Ferry (Kumamoto – Shimabara)
| Item | Official information |
|---|---|
| Crossing | Officially stated as 60 minutes over 21 km |
| Adult one-way fare | 1,180 yen; children 590 yen |
| Vehicle (including driver) | Under 3 m 3,000 yen; 3 to 4 m 3,200 yen; 4 to 5 m 3,900 yen; 5 to 6 m 5,150 yen |
| Regular timetable | 9 daily sailings; depart Kumamoto at 7:00, 8:20, 9:50, 11:00, 12:20, 13:35, 15:10, 16:05, 17:45 |
| Extra sailing | The 10th sailing (Kumamoto 19:10, Shimabara 19:05) operates only on 2 to 6 May and 11 to 16 August 2026, and 2 to 3 January 2027 |
| Dry-dock maintenance period | The official site announces 5 daily sailings from 7 to 18 December 2026 (depart Kumamoto 8:20, 11:00, 13:35, 16:05, 19:10), with some sailings canceled; see the official timetable |
The vehicle-fare bands differ between the two operators, so charges for the same vehicle cannot be compared directly. The table shows only the first few vehicle-length categories; check the official fare pages for others.
Kagoshima ↔ Sakurajima
- Operating hours: The official site states that 24-hour operation ended on 1 October 2025; services now run from 04:00 to 23:30, every day throughout the year
- Crossing time: About 15 minutes between Kagoshima Port and Sakurajima Port, potentially increasing to about 20 minutes in poor weather or sea conditions; boarding and disembarking require another 2 to 3 minutes
- Fares: Adults 250 yen one way; children (age 1 through primary school) 130 yen; one child under age 1 who has not entered school travels free per adult
- Payment: According to the official site, passengers and vehicles on regular routes pay at Sakurajima Port
- The timetable is on the official schedule page and is not reproduced here
Restrictions on access during volcanic activity are real-time information; see Kagoshima City’s disaster-prevention notices.
Nagasaki and Sasebo to the Goto Islands
The Kyushu Shosen official booking page states:
| Route | Service | Reservations |
|---|---|---|
| Nagasaki – Goto | Jetfoil | Online and telephone, opening at 09:00 on the corresponding date 2 months before travel |
| Nagasaki – Arikawa | High-speed boat | Online and telephone, from 2 months before travel |
| Sasebo – Kamigoto | High-speed boat | Online and telephone, from 2 months before travel |
| Nagasaki – Goto, Sasebo – Kamigoto | Ferry | Telephone only for vehicles and motorcycles, from 1 month before travel |
- Jetfoils and high-speed boats carry passengers only and cannot carry vehicles
- Online reservations are open 24 hours (except during maintenance) and close 1 hour before departure
- Tickets for Obon (10 to 17 August) may need to be purchased earlier
- Groups of 15 or more can reserve only by telephone
- On Kyushu Shosen’s operating-status page (updated 2026-10-28), ferry sections involving Nagasaki, Fukue, Naru Island, and Narao are marked “all sailings suspended since 25 August 2025,” but departure times for those ferries are also shown on the same page. These statements conflict; contact Kyushu Shosen directly before taking a ferry
- Some boats do not permit fishing equipment; confirm in advance
- The official site notes that online reservations require a member account except during Obon
For flights and ferries to the Goto Islands, see Kyushu domestic flights.
How ferry routes relate to passes
- The official SUNQ Pass description says the pass includes “some ferries,” citing Shimabara to Amakusa and routes to Sakurajima as examples
- The official information does not explicitly say whether the two Kumamoto–Shimabara ferry operators or the Goto services mentioned here are covered by SUNQ Pass; verify before use
Before departure, check the weather and cancellation notices; measure your vehicle’s length if taking a car; and reserve in advance for Goto.
Sources
- 熊本渡輪 時刻與票價(熊本港至島原外港) (www.kumamotoferry.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 九商渡輪 時刻表(熊本至島原) (www.kyusho-ferry.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 九商渡輪 票價 (kyusho-ferry.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 鹿兒島市船舶局 櫻島渡輪|首次乘船須知(營運時間、航程) (www.city.kagoshima.lg.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 鹿兒島市船舶局 櫻島渡輪|普通旅客運賃 (www.city.kagoshima.lg.jp, checked 2026-10-28)
- 九州商船 乘船訂位(長崎、佐世保往五島) (kyusho.co.jp, checked 2026-10-28)